BEST Robotics Forum
Register Calendar Latest Topics

Author   Comment  
esmith

Reply with quote  #1 
Hello, I am a teacher who is working toward learning programming so I can pass that knowledge to my students. Please forgive me if my question is elementary, but I just started working with Simulink during last year's BEST competition. Before that, I'd never been exposed to coding with Simulink.

I have recently been trying to learn to write autonomous programs with state flow. The first state flow chart I wrote will work through several states, then stop for no reason that is apparent to me. I will attach images of the chart along with the image of the simulation. state flow.PNG 

state flow2.PNG 

The simulation shows that all of the states work up to the last travel state. The way the chart is written, I am trying to move in a square shape beginning at the top left corner, then travel diagonally to the lower right corner. I guess my question is: Why will all of the states work except the last "diagonal_travel" state? I've looked at syntax and can come up with nothing.

I'd appreciate any help with this.
Espy Smith
Early County High School

shiremath

Reply with quote  #2 
Espy,

That's a great question. In fact, there was an example that I shared of a similar model in a Simulink webinar (recording is here) last year. Wondering if you followed that to get to this example.

In any case, based on the image of the Stateflow chart that you have above, I put together something similar that seems to work for me. Not sure exactly why in your case the state for diagonal travel is not executed. I cannot see any possible reason for it to fail execution, it most possibly is being executed but its output may not be visible in the XY plot window?